Good Me, Bad Me – Ali Land

‘NEW N A M E .
NEW F A M I L Y.
S H I N Y.
NEW.
ME . ‘

Annie’s mother is a serial killer.
The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police.
But out of sight is not out of mind.
As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly.
A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be.
But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water.
Good me, bad me.
She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

Have you ever read a book that was so good you sit back after finishing it, and wish you had written it?  That is how I felt after reading Good Me, Bad Me.  Not only had the book captivated me, horrified me and made me want to cry, it left me with a bittersweet feeling.  Energised by how much I had enjoyed it, yet frustrated that I myself hadn’t come up with the idea.

So Milly’s mother is a serial killer.  She has kidnapped, sexually abused, and murdered twelve children.  Dubbed the Peter Pan Killer, Milly’s mother is all over the front pages of the national news, but that part of the story is very much in the background.  This is Milly’s story of how she integrates into life after her mother’s arrest.  After Milly reports her mother to the police she is placed with a foster family.  Mike is Super-Dad.  A psychologist who is helping treat Milly.  Saskia a yoga loving blonde yummy mummy, and Phoebe the daughter.  Phoebe is the most popular girl in her year at the exclusive private school she attends.  Milly and Phoebe don’t exactly hit it off and a battle to become the apple of Mike’s eye quickly ensues.  This rivalry continues when Milly is enrolled at the same school as Phoebe, and subjected to a heinous campaign of bullying.  Milly struggles with this and as her mother’s trial date looms closer she is torn with conflicting guilt for turning her mother in, and for not doing enough to save the last of her victims.  But the greatest struggle for Milly is the old Cherokee parable of two wolves.  One is good and one is evil, which one will Milly chose to feed?

It was hard for me to write this review as I had to think carefully how to fully portray how beautifully poignant this story is.  Told from Milly’s point of view as if she was talking to her mother is a different and intriguing style of writing.  I was able to connect with Milly straight away, I empathised with her and felt like I understood her.  She got into my head and under my skin till all I cared about was her.

The author slowly drip feeds the story to you, just enough to initially satisfy you, but leave you hungry for more.  It was such a compelling story I could not bear to put it down, I was desperate to find out Milly’s plight.  The tension and suspense built up so well throughout that I was left with my heart pounding in my chest.  This is exactly what a Psychological Thriller should be – THRILLING!  There are some twists as the story begins to climax, but you do not know how the story will end until the last page, and oh how I held my breath hoping I would get what I wanted!

The characters are all complex and multi-layered, showing both the dark and light sides to human nature.  Milly’s narrative is both heartbreaking and chilling, one minute you are feeling so sad, the next your blood is running cold as the two wolves inside of her fight for dominance.

This is a cleverly planned and expertly plotted story that will stay with me for a long time.  I have a feeling this is going to be huge in 2017.  I would recommend this to all lovers of the dark, overall rating five fabulous stars ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐  Thanks to Ali Land,  Penguin Books and NetGalley for the advanced reader copy and chance to review this wonderful book.

Pre-order Good Me, Bad Me here

About the Author

13832217

After graduating from university with a degree in Mental Health, Ali Land spent a decade working as a Child and Adolescent Mental Health Nurse in both hospitals and schools in the UK and Australia. Ali is now a full-time writer and lives in West London.

Follow Ali on Twitter @byAliLand

 

2 thoughts on “Good Me, Bad Me – Ali Land

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

