Death Do Us Part – Steven Dunne

“DI Damen Brook is on a rare period of leave and determined to make the most of it by re-connecting with his daughter Terri. But with her heavy drinking proving a challenge, Brook takes the opportunity to visit a local murder scene when his help is requested.
An elderly couple have each been executed with a single shot to the heart and the method echoes that of a middle-aged gay couple killed the previous month.
With the same killer suspected and the officer currently in charge nearing retirement, Brook knows that he has little choice but to cut short his leave when forced by his superiors to take the lead on the case.
Brook believes that he can catch this ruthless killer, but already distracted by Terri’s problems, is he about to make a fatal mistake and lead the killer right to his own door?”

Thank you Steven Dunne for another fantastic read. Finished this last night and I loved every minute. I’ve been a massive fan of Steven and DI Brook since I discovered the first book in the series The Reaper, and this one did not disappoint.

The story was a bittersweet poignant tale, touching on sensitive subjects like grief after the loss of the love of your life, and living with PTSD.  I will admit that I found myself with an unexpected ache in my chest at a certain part of the story!

Both the style of writing and the characters are evolving with every book.  Brook was at his quirky best.  He had me laughing out loud with his lines and I find his developing friendship with DS Noble endearing.  I don’t know what attracts me so much to Brook, I see a lot of myself in him, I think it’s attitude to personal relationships and his mobile phone that reflect me somewhat.  Steven Dunne has managed to capture a thought I have daily with Brook’s whole “Are you American?” line!

There were a few plot twists along the way to keep you guessing leading up to a shocking ending leaving the reader wondering where this leaves Brook and his relationship with his daughter. Can’t wait for the next instalment. Well done 5 stars from me!! 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Click here to buy Death Do Us Part

One thought on “Death Do Us Part – Steven Dunne

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

